Volunteer Portal

Why Participate?

Many orthopaedic surgeons and hospitals routinely give back to the community through their charitable work and outreach efforts. These local programs impact the lives of patients in a powerful and meaningful way.

So, why participate in a national program, like Operation Walk USA?

Until recently, recognizing the countless charitable acts—in particular, the free surgeries—performed by orthopaedic surgeons annually was a hit-or-miss affair. Television or newspaper reporters will occasionally build a story on one special case in the community. But all too often, this kind of “good news” was overshadowed by reports of increasing healthcare costs, waste in the healthcare system, or medical errors.

Our strength is in numbers. Several hundred physicians conducting pro bono surgeries simultaneously across the United States create a national story that is both inspiring and compelling.

In summary, Operation Walk USA:

  • Underscores the value of orthopaedics in improving the lives of patients.
  • Highlights the compassionate, caring nature of the subspecialty—and of the participating orthopaedists.
  • Promotes the hospitals’ mission of healing.
  • And most importantly, it gives hope for a better, more productive, pain-free life to hundreds of underserved patients.

Participating in Operation Walk USA is an uplifting experience for everyone involved.

“There is no greater sense of fulfillment than restoring mobility and function in a person previously debilitated by arthritis. Thank you for the opportunity to give back to our community through joint replacement.”
Amanda D. Marshall, MD
Operation Walk USA Participants

How To Participate

  1. Review, understand, and share our 2019 General Participation Guidelines (available early May 2019).
  2. Discuss your hospital’s participation with all relevant stakeholders.  Understand the commitment that is expected from each participating hospital.
  3. Register through our online registration system (available early May 2019).
  4. Follow the Guidelines and meet the important deadlines specified therein.
  5. Communicate with Operation Walk USA staff regarding your process.

Volunteer Resources

Additional resources will be posted once available.

Download and use these slides to help explain the program to stakeholders at your hospital and in your professional community.

You may download and review the questions that are being asked when prospective patients apply for the program.  This will help you understand the type of information we collect at this initial point of contact.

Please be sure to download the 2019 General Participation Guidelines.

These comprehensive Guidelines explain the program in greater detail, specify the required commitment, and establish timeline for participation.

If your site has missed the deadline to register, but is interested in participating in 2019, please email opwalkusa@aaos.org.

2019 Participating Sites

Your site has to be a registered 2019 participant to be added to the map.

This map will be updated regularly as sites register to participate.  Registered sites are also listed below.

Kaiser Permanente OC-Irvine Medical Center

6640 Alton Parkway

Irvine, CA  92618

Jeff Hunter | email:  jeff.e.hunter@kp.org | phone:  714-644-4112

Parker Adventist Hospital

9395 Crown Crest Blvd

Parker, CO 80138

Katie Fritz | email:  katiefritz@centura.org | phone:  303-269-4974

_____

Colorado Joint Replacement

2535 South Downing St., Ste. 100

Denver, CO  80210

Francisca Mascarenaz | email:  FranciscaMascarenaz@Centura.org | phone:  303-260-2932

Christiana Care

501 West 14th Street

Wilmington, DE 19801

Andrew J. Gelman, DO | email:  hypdoc3@aol.com | phone:  302-655-9494

St. Amthony’s Hospital

3050 First Avenue South

St. Petersburg, FL  33712

Randy Zabukovec | email:  randyzabukovec@gmail.com | phone:  727-409-3200

Resurgens Surgery Center

5671 Peachtree Dunwoody Road, Suite 800

Atlanta, GA 30342

Anne Liney | email:  aliney@uspi.com | phone:  404-531-8522

_________

Roswell Surgery Center

1285 Hembree Road, Suite 200C

Roswell, GA 30076

Jane Borozan | email:  jborozan@uspi.com | phone:  770-772-5525

_________

Tift Regional Medical Center

901 E. 18th Street

Tifton, GA 31793

Debbie Harvey | email:  deborah.harvey@tiftregional.com | phone:  229-353-2663

_____

Optim Surgical Center Savannah

210 E. Derenne

Savannah, GA  31405

Ed Osterman | email:  eosterman@optimhealth.com | phone:  912-629-3534

CHI Health Good Samaritan

10 E. 31st Street

Kearney, NE  68847

Karen Obrecht | email:  karenobrecht@catholichealth.net | phone:  308-865-2600

Rothman Institute / Atlanticare

65 W Jimmie Leeds Rd

Pomona, NJ 08240

Rex Lutz | email:  rexlutz165@gmail.com | phone:  484-894-3251

Carolinas Center for Surgery

3714 Guardian Avenue, Ste E

Morehead City, NC 28557

Hannah Wolfe | email:  hwolfe@cc4surgery.com | phone:  252-222-5866

CHI St Alexis Health

900 East Broadway

Bismarck, ND 58501

Mark Johnson | email:  majohnson@primecare.org | phone:  701-530-3364

Joint Implant Surgeons (JIS) | Mount Carmel New Albany

7277 Smith’s Mill Road, Ste. 200

New Albany, OH  43054

Heather Ringle | email:  hringle@mchs.com | phone:  614-775-6334

St. Thomas Health

2000 Church Street

Nashville, TN 37203

Christopher Cunningham | email:  christopher.cunningham@ascension.org | tel: 615-604-3110

Baylor Scott & White Frisco

5601 Warren Parkway

Frisco, TX 75034

Operation Walk Utah

24 South 1100 East | Suite 101

Salt Lake City, UT 84102

Cathy Groos | email: utahoperationwalk@gmail.com | tel:  801-718-1518

Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center

100 Sentara Circle

Williamsburg, VA 23188

_____

Mary Immaculate Hospital Bon Secours Mercy Health System

2 Bernardine Drive

Newport News, VA 23602

John Meseroll | email:  john_meseroll@bshs.org | phone:  757-814-3455

_____

Inova Mount Vernon Hospital

2501 Parkers Lane

Alexandria, VA  22306

Leslie Maralit | email:  leslie.maralit@inova.org | phone:  703-664-7493

WVU Medicine

1 Medical Center Drive

Morgantown, WV 26506

Benjamin Frye, MD