Volunteer Portal

Follow Operation Walk USA, our patients and stories on Facebook.

Why Participate?

Many orthopaedic surgeons and hospitals routinely give back to the community through their charitable work and outreach efforts. These local programs impact the lives of patients in a powerful and meaningful way.

So, why participate in a national program, like Operation Walk USA?

Until recently, recognizing the countless charitable acts—in particular, the free surgeries—performed by orthopaedic surgeons annually was a hit-or-miss affair. Television or newspaper reporters will occasionally build a story on one special case in the community. But all too often, this kind of “good news” was overshadowed by reports of increasing healthcare costs, waste in the healthcare system, or medical errors.

Our strength is in numbers. Several hundred physicians conducting pro bono surgeries simultaneously across the United States create a national story that is both inspiring and compelling.

In summary, Operation Walk USA:

  • Underscores the value of orthopaedics in improving the lives of patients.
  • Highlights the compassionate, caring nature of the subspecialty—and of the participating orthopaedists.
  • Promotes the hospitals’ mission of healing.
  • And most importantly, it gives hope for a better, more productive, pain-free life to hundreds of underserved patients.

Participating in Operation Walk USA is an uplifting experience for everyone involved.

2023 Participant Spotlight:

The Pioneer Medical Foundation

On January 6, 2024, the Pioneer Medical Foundation, in partnership with Operation Walk USA, Advent Health Carrollwood and other community partners helped TWENTY FIVE uninsured patients to get hip and knee joint replacements at no cost!

Great thanks to orthopaedists Drs. Brian Palumbo, Steven Lyons, Thomas Bernasek, and Christopher Grayson as well as anesthesiologists Drs. Warner, Pena, to their surgical teams, nurses, hospital staff, and others. Over 240 volunteers came from over eight hospitals of the AdventHealth to perform 25 joint replacements in one day with implants donated by several implant manufacturers. THANK YOU ALL for forever changing the patients’ lives with your generosity and kind hearts!

“There is no greater sense of fulfillment than restoring mobility and function in a person previously debilitated by arthritis. Thank you for the opportunity to give back to our community through joint replacement.”
Amanda D. Marshall, MD
Operation Walk USA Participants

How To Participate

  1. Review, understand, and share our 2024 General Participation Guidelines.
  2. Discuss your hospital’s participation with all relevant stakeholders.  Understand the commitment that is expected from each participating hospital.
  3. Register through our online registration system.
  4. Follow the Guidelines and meet the important deadlines specified therein.
  5. Communicate with Operation Walk USA staff regarding your process.

Volunteer Resources

Download and use these slides to help explain the program to stakeholders at your hospital and in your professional community.

COMING SOON!  You may download and review the questions that are being asked when prospective patients apply for the program.  This will help you understand the type of information we collect at this initial point of contact.

Registration linked above should be completed by a designated representative of a Hospital (Site) interested in participation.

These comprehensive Guidelines explain the program in greater detail, specify the required commitment, and establish a timeline for participation.

Thank You to the 2022-2023 Participating Sites!

Sites are listed in alphabetical order by State.

  • Kaiser Permanente Orange County Medical Center, Irvine, CA 92618
  • Parker Adventist Hospital, Parker, CO 80138.  Madison Schiefer, madisonschiefer@centura.org
  • Piedmont Henry Hospital, Stockbridge, GA 
  • OrthoAtlanta Surgery Center, Fayetteville, GA, 30214.  Stefanie McCullers, smccullers@orthoatlanta.com, 678-216-0771
  • Orthopaedic South Surgical CenterMcDonough, GA 30253. Andrea Marsh, Administrator, anmarsh@uspi.com, 678-422-4230
  • Resurgens Surgery Center, Atlanta, GA 30342. Anne Liney, Outpatient Surgery Center Administrator, aliney@uspi.com, 404-531-8532
  • Advanced Center for Joint Surgery, Cumming, GA  30041. Emily Arce, ACJS, Clinical Administrator, emily.arce@advancedjointsurgery.com, 470-839-9200
  • Roswell Surgery Center, Roswell, GA 30076. Susan West, BSN, RN, Administrator, suwest@uspi.com, 770-772-5520
  • Optim Health System Surgery Center, Savannah, GA 31405. Melanie Fitzgibbon, Ambulatory Surgical Center Administrator, mfitzgibbon@optimhealth.com,  912-644-5343
  • Advent Hospital Carollwood, Tampa, FL 33614. Ano Kashumba, Project Coordinator, akashumba@pioneermedicalgroupflorida.com, 813-775-5639
  • Advent Health La Grange Hospital, La Grange, IL 60525
  • Bozeman Health Deaconess Hospital, Bozeman, MT  59047. Kiera Pattison, Nursing System Director, kpattison@bozemanhealth.org, 406-223-2687
  • CHI St Alexius Health, Bismarck, ND. Mark Johnson, Total Joint coordinator, mark.johnson592@commonspirit.org, 701-530-3364
  • CHI Good Samaritan, Kearney, NE, 68847. Sharri Miner, Clinic Manager, sharri.miner@commonspirit.org, 308-865-2600
  • Monmouth Medical Center. Long Branch, NJ 07740.  Dana Delatush, NP, dana.delatush@rwjbh.org.  732-222-5200
  • AtlantiCare Regional Medical Center, Pomona, NJ 08240. Heather Schultz, Program Manager, Perioperative Services, Heather.Schultz@atlanticare.org, 609-748-7545
  • Northwell Health, Valley Stream, NY 11580. Asha Gallagher, Administrative Director, AGallagher5@northwell.edu, 350-000-0000
  • Meritus Medical Center, Hagerstown, MD 21742 
  • Penn Medicine  Princeton Medical Center, Plainsboro, NJ 08536. Elizabeth Shokoff, elizabeth.shokoff@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
  • Mount Carmel New Albany Surgical Hospital, New Albany, OH 43054
  • Ascension Saint Thomas Hospital, Nashville, TN 37203
  • INOV8 Surgical, Houston, TX 77043. Taylor Bailey, CEO, taylor.bailey@scasurgery.com512-635-8439
  • South Texas Spine and Surgical Hospital, San Antonio, TX
  • Tidewater Physicians Multispecialty Group, Newport News, VA 23606. Deborah Allred, Clinical Coordinator, deborah.allred@tpmgpc.com
  • Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, Williamsburg, VA 23188
  • Operation Walk Utah, Salt Lake City, UT, 84102.  Linsey Tanner, Clinic Coordinator, utahoperationwalk@gmail.com, 801-355-6468
  • WVUH, Morgantown, WV, 26501. Cynthia Drummond, Orthopaedic Nurse Clinician, drummondcy@wvumedicine.org, 304-598-6720